E. Shand: Valse (sheet music)


Valse I just recently discovered the music of Ernest Shand! I think his music deserves more attention and credits.
This “Valse” originally had no title. The tempo indication says: Tempo di Valse.
Ernest Shand (born Ernest William Watson; 1868 – 1924) was an English performer and composer for the classical guitar, as well as a music-hall singer and actor. Despite his success, the guitar was a relatively small niche in England. Shand made his living mainly from acting in music halls, and only late in life was persuaded by his wife and friends to take up the guitar professionally. Even then he had to return to acting after he had lost money in a studio and advertising business. As an actor, he travelled as far as Australia, where he also gave guitar recitals. Shand moved to London in 1896, where he was elected to the Senate of the London Guild of Violinists and gave a well-received series of performances at the Royal College of Music. During one of his tours, he was apparently attacked by an aggrieved Russian and sustained severe injuries that affected him for the rest of his life. I hope this will make more guitarists play his music.

Level: 2 (easy but with a few barré).
Pages: 1 (2 pages incl. cover)
Standard tuning
NOTE: All PDF-files are Password Protected! You can see your password in the invoice/email that will be sent to you.

Digital Download!

1. Add your Digital Download title to your shopping cart by clicking the button “ADD TO BASKET”
2. Keep selecting all the pieces you would like to order
3. Click “VIEW BASKET”
4. Go to “CHECKOUT”
5. You’ll receive an order confirmation email containing instructions how to view, download and print your title(s)

PLEASE NOTE: You are only licensed to print as many copies as you have purchased. You may replace a destroyed or lost copy. However, you may not distribute the file to others or print more copies than purchased for use (i.e., you may not print individual copies for friends or students).

Category: Tags: , , , ,


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.